Congratulations to Dr Narayanaswamy Balakrishnan, who has received the title Distinguished University Professor, the highest honour an academic can receive from the University. The title was confered at the Faculty of Science Convocation Ceremony on June 12th, 2014. Dr Balakrishnan has been recognised for his exceptional career as a teacher, researcher, author, editor and global citizen, he is one of the most cited statisticians of all time and the most heavily cited researcher at McMaster, Balakrishnan has authored or co-authored more than 400 research papers across many disciplines. 
Dr Megumi Harada has been named a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Equivariant Symplectic and Algebraic Geometry.

Dr Megumi Harada was featured in NSERC's Celebration of Women in Math, along with other prominent and inspiring women in mathematics in Canada.

Nicholas Kevlahan hosted an Open Access Colloquium on Tuesday, April 29, 2014, where students, researchers and librarians engaged in a wide-ranging discussion of the challenges and opportunities due to the enormous changes in academic communication and in society, led by international experts on Open Access publishing and new forms of digital communication. For more information please see attached poster .
Dr Gail Wolkowicz is the recipient of the 2014 Krieger-Nelson Prize. Dr Wolkowicz received the prize in June at the Canadian Mathematics Society’s Summer Meeting in Winnipeg. The CMS Krieger-Nelson Prize was first awarded in 1995 to recognize female mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions in the area of mathematical research. Dr Wolkowicz is being recognised for her research in Mathematical Biology.

Go Back
McMaster University - Faculty of Science | Math & Stats